Eddyville will have 3 new city council members; Humphries carries Lyon
by Bobbie Foust and Levi Holsapple
Nov 06, 2012 | 1696 views | 0 0 comments | 8 8 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Eddyville will have three new city council members in January. And in the presidential race Mitt Romney carried Lyon County easily over Democratic incumbent President Barack Obama.

However, Obama appeared to be ahead nationally, but the race was too close to call at press time. Lyon voters gave Romney 2,412 votes to 1,373 for Obama.

Three minor party candidates received few votes here. Their totals are shown in an precinct grid on page A7.

Former Eddyville Mayor Judi Stone took one of six city council seats with 356 votes and political newcomers Julie Wadlington and Greg Greene also won seats with 415 and 358 votes respectively.

Three of the five incumbents running also won — India Hyde received 331 votes; Ron Claxton, 404; and Michael Greene, cousin of Greg Greene, 358.

Incumbents LaFon Coomer and Bob McDonald were defeated but still garnered 286 and 221 votes respectively.

Others seeking a council seat and the votes they received were: Lee Ann Conger with 326; Juanita Socha, 178, and Tom Owen, 173.

Republican Stan Humphries, judge-executive in Trigg County, carried Lyon County for the 1st District state Senate seat with 2,222 votes to 1,521 for his opponent, Democrat Carroll Hubbard.

Humphries was winning five of the seven counties by more than 7,000 votes with 63 percent at press time. Besides Lyon, counties in the district are Trigg, Calloway, Graves, Fulton, Hickman and Carlisle.

In the 1st District Congressional race, incumbent Ed Whitfield, R-Hopinsville, easily carried Lyon County over Charles Kendall Hatchett, D-Benton, 2,548 to 1,218. Whitfield also appeared to be winning easily districtwide.

Sixth District state Rep. Will Coursey running unopposed garnered 2,698 votes in Lyon County. His totals in Marshall County were 11,503, but his votes in McCracken county were not available at press time.

Others unopposed and their votes in Lyon County were: Commonwealth Attorney G.L. Ovey, 2,784; Circuit Clerk Rebecca “Becky” Howard, 2,902; nonpartisan School Board candidates Jerry Dunning, 2nd District, 377; Jim Bannister, 3rd District, 408; and Rebecca Place-Yates, 4th District, 393.

Kuttawa City Council incumbents, Betty Guess, 222; Jed Walker, 223; Jeff Fralick, 209; Jerry Phelps, 217; Jaison Riley, 207; Skyla Jenkins Grief, 214.

No candidates filed for county surveyor or for constable in any of the three magisterial districts.

The state Constitutional Amendment on hunting carried Lyon 2,984 to 284.

As is traditional, Lyon County turned out a high percentage of voters. County Clerk Sarah DeFew said 64 percent of the 6,070 registered voters cast ballots Tuesday. And 370 plus voters cast absentee ballots, triple the usual number, DeFew said.
Click for Eddyville, Kentucky Forecast
Sponsored By:
Beaus Blog Logo
Read Beau's Daily Analysis