LCES Academic team

Lyon County Elementary School’s academic team scored runner-up overall in the district Governor’s Cup competition. Pictured are (front, from left) Ben Dunbar, Jake Brown, (middle) Matthew Merrick, Keagan Knott, Trace Elliott, Piper Cotham, Allison White, Madelyn Perkins, Chloe Gandee, Sophia Byassee, Alissa Mitchell, and C.J. Nelson, (back) Principal Amy Perdue, Christian Patton, Anndailyn Whittington, Lyla Melton, Courtney Collins, Colton prow, Jacob Embrey, Adrian Knight, Brenna Breitrick, Olivia Moore and Coach Heather McDowell. Not pictured are Colton Gobin and Eryn McDowell.

Lyon County Elementary School’s academic team scored runner-up overall in the recent district Governor’s Cup competition in Draffenville. This is the first year for the team.

Winners were:

• Quick Recall team, second place: Keagan Knott, Allison White, Jake Brown, Sophia Byassee, Trace Elliott, Eryn McDowell, C.J. Nelson and Madelyn Perkins.

• Future Problem Solving team, second place: Ben Dunbar, Chloe Gandee, Matthew Merrick and Alissa Mitchell

• Keagan Knott, first place in social studies and science.

• Colton Gobin, second place in science and third in social studies.

• Colton Prow, second place in math.

• Allison White, second place in language arts and fourth in math.

• Piper Cotham, third place in arts and humanities.

• Jacob Embrey, fifth place in arts and humanities.

• Brenna Breitrick, third place in written composition.

All students who placed will move on to regional competition hosted this week by Trigg Elementary. Competing will be East Calloway, Murray, North Calloway, Southwest Calloway, Morganfield, Sturgis, Uniontown, Marshall Central, Trigg, Caldwell, North Livingston and South Livingston.